About Us

Guiding Principles

Our Mission

Advance, Promote, and protect the science and practice of behavior analysis.

Our Vision

CalABA will have an informed and engaged membership, a well-developed organizational infrastructure, and a wide sphere of influence.

Our Core Values

  • Ethical behavior
  • Knowledgable membership
  • Collaborative leadership

As members of the behavior-analytic community, we are committed to these core values in our interactions with each other and our stakeholders.

Who We Are

Who We Are

The  mission of the California Association for Behavior Analysis is to  promote the science and theory of behavior analysis through the support  of research, education and practice.

We sponsor the top regional conference on behavior analysis in the United States and regularly feature well known researchers and clinicians from throughout the United States.

We are the primary clearinghouse for research and training in behavior analysis in the Western Region of the United States.

The  California Association for Behavior Analysis was formed in 1998 when  two organizations joined together: The Northern California Association  for Behavior Analysis (NCABA) and the Association for Behavior Analysis  and Therapy/Southern California (ABAT/SC).


In order to fulfill this mission, CalABA commits to the following activities:

  1. Support a certification process for behavior analysts and assistant behavior analysts;
  2. Advocate for behavior analysis services and the profession;
  3. Promote quality assurance in behavior analysis;
  4. Provide resources and information related to behavior analysis;
  5.  Advance behavior analysis via professional development activities

Recipients of Award for Outstanding Contributions to

Behavior Analysis


NCABA (1985 - 1998)

1998 - G. Roy Mayer
1997 - Julie Vargas
1996 - No award
1995 - Donald Baer
1994 - Ogden Lindsley
1993 - Sidney Bijou
1992 - Paul Touchette
1991 - Mark Sundberg
1990 - A. Charles Catania
1989 - Barbara Etzel
1988 - Murray Sidman
1987 - John Lutzker
1986 - W. Stewart Agras
1985 - Jack Michael

CalABA (1999 - Present)

2013 - Gina Green 
2012 - Allen Neuringer 
2011 - O. Ivar Lovaas (posthumous) 
2010 - John Nevin 
2009 - Jon Bailey 
2008 - Philip Hineline 
2007 - James Johnston 
2006 - Teodoro Ayllon 
2005 - Todd Risley 
2004 - Montrose Wolf 
2003 - Nate Azrin 
2002 - Brian Iwata 
2001 - Beth Sulzer-Azaroff 
2000 - Sigrid Glenn
1999 - Jerry Shook

Recipients of Gerald L. Shook Advocacy Award

This award is presented to an outstanding  individual who has exhibited exceptional leadership and advocacy skills  in promoting behavior analysis by affecting policy, regulation, and/or  legislation aligned with CalABA's mission and goals. Starting in 2013  this award is named in honor of Gerald Shook, founder and CEO of the   Behavior Analyst Certification Board. 

2013 - Eric Larsson 
2012 - Lorri Unumb
2011 - Greg Wagner
2010 - Louis Vismara